Department Of Cooperation, Government of Karnataka



1. What is Yeshasvini Scheme?

    Yeshasvini Scheme is a prestigious scheme implemented by Department of Co-operation which aims at providing medical facility to rural cooperators.

2. Who can become the beneficiary under Yeshasvini Scheme?

    To avail the benefit of Yeshasvini Scheme, a person should be a member of rural cooperative society of the state for a minimum period of 3 months before commencement of treatment under Yeshasvini i.e., at least 3 months before 1st of June every year.

3. What is the annual contribution amount to be paid by the members to get enrolled under Yeshasvini scheme for the year 2015-16?

     The member has to pay Rs 250.00 for the year 2015-16 in Rural Yeshasvini scheme to become member. And Rs.710.00 under Nagara Yeshasvini Scheme, Scheduled caste/ schedule tribe members have to pay Rs 50.00 only in Rural Yeshasvini scheme and Rs 110.00 In Nagara Yeshasvini Scheme the remaining amount is subsidy by Government.

4. Whether it is necessary for all the members of the family to become members of cooperative society?

    No, only the member has to be the member of cooperative society. Other members can avail the benefit under the scheme by making payment of the contribution separately.

5. When does the enrollment commence every year?

    The enrollment commences from January/February and closes by August.

6. Who can become the member under Yeshasvini scheme?

    Apart from the members of the rural cooperative societies, members of self help group/Sthree Shakthi Groups who have financial transactions with cooperative societies/co-operative bank, members of the fisherman co-operatives, Beedi workers co-operatives and weavers co-operatives are also eligible to become the members.

7. What is the age limit fixed?

    No age limit to avail the benefits of this scheme.i.e., from new born to life span of the years.

8. What is the identification for members?

    Upto 2007-08 photo identity cards were issued and those without ID cards accessed services based on letter from District Registrar of Co-operatives. From 2008-09 onwards unique health identification enrollment form is given. It is pre defined number using bar code reader.

9. How many type of surgeries are covered under this scheme?

    823 types of surgical procedures identified by the Yeshasvini Trust are covered.

10. What facilities are given to beneficiaries under the scheme?

    (a) During surgeries, the beneficiaries are given cost of medicines, consumables during hospital stay, cost of Operation Theater, Anesthesia, surgeons          fee, professional charge, consultation fee, nursing fee, general ward bed charges etc. The surgery package rates for each of the surgery is fixed under          the scheme.
    (b) Free out patient consultation.
    (c) Discounted tariffs for lab investigations and tests.

11. What is not covered under Yeshasvini Scheme?

    Yeshasvini scheme does not cover medical and follow up treatment, implants, prosthesis, joint replacement surgeries, kidney and heart transplants, chemo-therapy, cosmetic surgery, burnt cases, dental surgeries, road traffic accidents, medico legal cases, diagnostic investigations, auto immune diseases, skin grafting, dialysis, artificial limb, deviated nasal septum, screws and stunt etc for orthopedic and urological surgeries.

12. What are the special benefits included under Yeshasvini Scheme?

    Medical emergencies such as dog bite, snake bite, drowning and accidents occurred while operating agricultural implements, bull gore injuries, electric shocks, normal delivery, neo natal care and angioplasty procedure.

13. What is the maximum amount reimbursed?

    Under Rural Yeshasvini scheme the maximum limit is Rs 1.25 lakh in case of single admission and Rs 2.00 lakh in case of multiple surgeries and in Nagara Yeshasvini. It is Rs 1.75 lakh for single admission and Rs2.50 lakh for multiple admissions in the same year.

14. Is it an insurance scheme?

    No, it is a self fund scheme where the beneficiary contributes a specified amount every year. The government also contributes to the scheme every year.

15. Who is the supporting department in government?

    The Department of Co-operation is the supporting department.

16. Which hospital can give the treatment?

    Only Network hospitals recognized by the Yeshasvini trust can impart treatment to the beneficiaries.

17. How many hospitals are recognized in Karnataka?

     Nearly 572 hospitals are recognized as of now.

18. Who is implementing agency?

    The third party agency assists in effective implementation of the scheme. At present the MSP (Management Services Provider) is MDIndia Healthcare Networx Pvt. Ltd, Which coordinates between network hospitals, beneficiaries and Trust in providing treatment.

19. What is the procedure for getting the treatment?

    The beneficiaries holding unique identification number should approach the Yeshasvini network hospital. The hospital checks whether the applicant is Yeshasvini beneficiary and whether the surgery is covered under Yeshasvini scheme. Later, preauthorization is sought from MSP through internet. The MSP gives pre authorization and then the hospital conducts surgery.

20. How the bills of the hospital settled?

    The hospital forwards bills to the MSP (Management Services Provider). The bills are scrutinised and sent to Yeshasvini Trust. Yeshasvini trust passes the bills and after approval in specified sub committee meetings, the payment is made to MSP. MSP inturn makes payment to the hospital.

21. What is the official website of yeshasvini scheme?